Finished set

43 posts / 0 new
Last post
Finished set

We're allowed to note finished sets here, right? OK, well I finished off 'Hats Off, Uno' this morning.

http://www.abctales.com/abcplex/viewABC.cgi?ABC=6188

So I shall be starting 'Hats Off, Duo' on Monday.

chant
Anonymous's picture
a very energetic and diverse set. i think my favourite was The Dust Cellar. http://www.abctales.com/abcplex/viewstory.cgi?s=25662
funky_seagull
Anonymous's picture
Yeah nice one Henstoat.. haven't read everything in your "hats off, uno" set; but I agree with chant; what I've read so far has been great stuff. Yeah man respect an all that where it's due.. I've never managed to finish an abc set.. that's pretty amazing dedication.. fairplay.. I feel quite humbled actually.. cause I'm a lazy writer man.. and you've injected some positive enthusiasm into me to have a go and finish off what I started out to do.. good writing anyway dude. safe
Henstoat
Anonymous's picture
Thanks be to both of you! I'm not that good at finishing sets either, Funky - this is the first one! However, I plan to finish another in the next couple of weeks, since the 'Hats Off' collection is about twice as big as a single ABC set
chant
Anonymous's picture
wasn't too sure about two of the latin phrases in odi et amo. were 'si facias amnia' and 'o di mulier mea' supposed to mean something, or were they provided purely for phonetic effect?
Henstoat
Anonymous's picture
They do mean something, but if you don't know Latin, then I though the poetic effect was worth it. I believe the first is, "If the face of the poet...", the second is, "O gods, my woman." They're both lines from the poems of Catullus.
sirat
Anonymous's picture
And for the sake of completeness: Odi et Amo "Hate and Love" Sed nescio "But on the contrary, ignorance" Uale, puella "Have strength, girl!" Isn't half-remembered school latin wonderful!
Paul Morgan (ge...
Anonymous's picture
How about sic transit gloria mundi?
chant
Anonymous's picture