Reviewing your own stories

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
Reviewing your own stories

I've recently written a story I absolutely love (well I would wouldn't I!!). And I've submitted it to ABC (it's sci-fi labelled as retribution), but I'm rather nerve-racked. I mean I've read through it loads of times but I still can't get over the feeling that noone will like it or its not really any good. Does everyone suffer from this? And is there any way you can make a more realistic look at your story adn assess whats wrong with it that you might like but noone really would?

Sooz
Anonymous's picture
and the price of ink these days! I couldn't agree more though this method is well worth doing. Also once you have printed your stuff out try reading it out loud you will be surprised how many times you think 'hhmm that could be better' because it doesn't flow quite right.
Liana
Anonymous's picture
I read it Paul, and it seems well written - Im not too good with Sci Fi, as I tend to lose interest ( a hundred people will howl protest at me now) so perhaps someone else can make a more educated comment on it than me. The only thing that I would suggest is that you check the spellings and stuff. "Their" should've been "there" at a point early on. Im not nitpicking I hasten to add - I fall down with that myself - and the spell checker doesnt pick stuff up like that, does it? Anyway good luck, and l hope you get lots of readers Liana
paul_may
Anonymous's picture
Yeah your right I ran that story through my spell checker umpteen times andit seemed fine. Thanks for that I also look for that rogue their (here wordy wordy!). Thanks for your criticism as well! Personally I thought it was a bad plot which was badly written , but then people like you keep telling me it was good so thanks. I'm also receiving loads of e-mails about it and their all helping me plan my next story. Cheers!
paul_may
Anonymous's picture