I read ferguswergus by chance

46 posts / 0 new
Last post
I read ferguswergus by chance

Hello - I am living in Holland and I just surfed on this site, and i read ferguswergus things by chance. Its' very good and very funny i remember being in Scotland this two years ago
and he writings making me laugh.
Can you understand?
Did he do any book do you know?
Goodbye
cri-cri

cellarscene
Anonymous's picture
Fergus, this is how part of your very short piece reads: "An old habit. A one hundred thousand pound ring. A million dollar dresses. A real smile." Clearly there's a minor error there, and as the piece is so short it is a bit jarring. It should be "dress" singular, not "dresses" plural. (Alternatively, take away the "A".) This does not detract from the fact that it's a masterpiece of compression and a powerful statement. As an editor, I edited. Most submissions that I received when the mag. was being printed needed some changes. I am as prone to careless mistakes as anyone else, and you will find similar errors in my own work. I pointed out this one in yours only because in a work so short it jars. I would also add that I wouldn't have bothered if I'd thought your work without merit. This is NOT a personal attack!
Andrea
Anonymous's picture
My old tutor used to say, bless him, that you know you've become a 'real' writer when you find yourself editing as you read. As he'd been a Guardian editor for a good many years, I swiftly took note, as you can imagine... I'm sure Cellar didn't mean this as a personal attack, Fergus. I find myself doing the same.
Eric
Anonymous's picture
Thanks, Andrea!
Zweeti
Anonymous's picture
Hi all, I am an avid reader of that dashing Scotsman,Fergus!! He has a wicked sense of humour. I hope he gets the fame he deserves!!! Best wishes, Zweeti
Andrea
Anonymous's picture
Well, gotta take a squizz at this guy, then... Welcome Christelle, by the way...lots of Clogs on here.
Andrea
Anonymous's picture