uncle reggies study room by shoebox

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
uncle reggies study room by shoebox

http://www.abctales.com/story/shoebox/uncle-reggies-study-room

Wise words that will resonate with many on here. In the last two years since i started writing again regularly with a hunger to be published, i have never felt so low and wretched and so full of self doubt.

Obviously not all of the time but a huge proportion of my thinking is taken up with preoccupations that i am a crap writer and will never improve. Some famous writer once wrote (help can anyone supply the name - definetly female) that the key to writing is to do it everyday in neither joy nor despair.

I try.

Juliet

"We were staying with him a few days at his nice cottage near Scarborough, on the North Sea." Without wishing to sound too pedantic, this does give one the impression that Uncle Reggie's cottage had an awful damp problem...
Come now, it says the cottage is near Scarborough, not actually in the sea. Or do you know something that I do not about that area? Do all the cottages around the world (Long Island, Hawaii, the Hebrides, etc.) have dampness problems? Anyway, you did respond, did you not? Luck to you.
To Juliet, nothing, you will learn if you have yet to, is easy. If you truly like writing, do not despair but continue. Maybe those who give it up too soon did not truly like/love it as needed. Just a thought.
hi juliet hope you don't mind but i edited out your hyphens ... they made the title all long and unbending and it cocked up the formatting cheers fish
thought it looked better:) Juliet

Juliet