i'm a new self-published author looking for feedback

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
i'm a new self-published author looking for feedback

hello everyone

after much blood, sweat, tears and red wine, I've finally self published my novel. If anyone would be kind enough to take a look you can see it at www.lulu.com/content/2072117

I must say that the Lulu self publishing process was a total pain in the backside, but they do tell you up front that the onus is on you to get it right, so I guess the problem lay with me.

Anyway. It feels good to hold MY book in my hot sweaty little hands! Now I just need to force my family and friends to help me market it.

Firstly, congratulations. I was going to start self-publishing through xlibris.com, but then they started charging. There's a few out there now that charge hundreds (sometimes thousands) of pounds to get a book to the print ready stage. Lulu's great as there's no up front fee but like you said, the DIY formatting can be a pain in the bum if you're not careful. Did you buy an ISBN/barcode through them? If not and you'd like to have your book listed on Amazon, WHSmiths, Borders, Waterstones etc, maybe check out www.positive-publishing.co.uk Anyways, all the best and well done.
Thanks Lee. I did buy a barcode, which was one of the main bugbears. You can't buy the barcode until you have uploaded your cover. Then, once you get the number, you have to take the first cover off, get the barcode put on, and upload it again. It took ages to get right. Anyway, it's done now, and I just have to wait for Amazon and so on to list it. Thanks for your comments, and good luck with your writing Abandoned: available from www.lulu.com/content/2072117 or my website: jeanettemccarthy.co.uk

Abandoned: available from www.lulu.com/content/2072117

or my website: jeanettemccarthy.co.uk