Punctuation and Paragraphing Anarchy

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Punctuation and Paragraphing Anarchy

Ok.. this @!#$'s been bothering me for ages. Maybe some studious soul can help me out here. I'll give you a bit of history just so's you can put it in context. I've been writing poetry for about eight years now. I started seriously writing prose four years ago.. mostly short stories..
Ok.. I'll get to the point. I've just been working on a story and found myself lingering on, editing, re-editing and generally fumbling over two sentences the entire evening.

I've given up on punctuation!!..
however these two sentences should be expressed (in my head) well.. I just can't get them on to the paper. Whatever sense of punctuation I had when I wrote poetry ..it seemed to work ..but with this prose business I'm getting more and more stuck.. it's all just comma's and ..'s a-go-go.

I got an E in English Language at A-Level.. that must be it.

Paragraphs too.. someone give me the classic definition of WHY paragraphing is used.. and at least I'll have something to compare to the weirdness that's

going on

now.

I have my own sense of how paragraphs work within my little creative sphere.. in MY stuff.. like one word or one sentence paragraphs.. they don't bother me ..but should there be a whole host of other stuff informing this approach as well???? And where can I find it?

Not the dreaded David Crystal, please!!

Eric (cellarscene)
Anonymous's picture