Feedback please

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Feedback please

Hi everyone,

I'm a relatively new writer and I'd really appreciate any feedback/comments/advice for my story 'Buckets'. Please be as honest as possible, I don't mind - in fact I need it.

Cheers
a.c.t.

Amanda, I found the first few paragraphs a sequentially awkward in "setting the stage." You might want to figure out a better avenue for placing your heroine at the scene.Otherwise, the dialogue and sequence of events were both comfortable and credible. I enjoyed reading them. Your point of view is both credible and entertaining. Keep polishing this piece.It has real potential. J.X.M
Thanks a lot Joseph. The dialogue and sequence of events was something I was a bit unsure about so it's good to know I'm on the right track. Now for the polish...
I was interested to see how this turned out within a couple of paragraphs. It has a simple style which works well, focusing on telling the story. However, I think it would benefit if the characters had a little more depth. They seem only to do things that fit with their 'type', and the ending is quite predictable. Perhaps, also you could condense the early characters into one, so that there is just the protagonist and one friend, seeing as it is such a short piece. I agree with J that the piece has potential with some polishing. Just a few thoughts, I hope they are of use to you. Chelsey