Inspiration Soup

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Inspiration Soup

Hello everybody,
So, I'm interested in what keeps people going, how people get refreshed/inspired..whether it's a muse, a tick, connecting with the inner child, or some sort of compulsion? I know some writers are quite disciplined and others have odd habits...I guess it's a perennial question for writers and artists; how not to get stuck or go flat. I'm not so much looking for the magic answer but just curious about what other people find helps to keep them going?

notebook with me at all times

The oddity of my inspiration is that I often get two ideas at once, I'll be scribbling down a story idea and then a different story will emerge before I've got the first idea down on the page, I'll have to turn the page upside down and make notes on the second story. It's usually two, sometimes three.

I tell myself that I'm a writer. No joke. I used to think that because I've never been paid to write or since no one's ever asked me to, that maybe I'm not really a writer. Writers get a paycheck, I'd tell myself. I'm 58 years and may die never having been a paid writer. But, fuck! I'm a goddamn writer! I work hard at it. Some of my stuff is damn good - If most of us didn't think we were any good, we wouldn't even bother - and some of my other stuff can really suck. And I never feel more liberated than when I'm sitting here tapping out a story. And I no longer wait for the muse to come calling. Joni Mitchell had a word of advice for friends who would complain to her about losing their muse and how they haven't written in ages. She would said, "Oh, just shut the fuck up and write." And I've taken that piece of advice seriously. The muse is always within us. It's just that sometimes we have to drag it out of us, kicking and screaming, but once we've given it some air it calms down and gets to work. So when I'm having trouble with the muse, I write anything to get a story started. I usually look around me and pick an o