Advice needed

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
Advice needed

I wonder if anyone can advise me?

I have been contacted by an editor of a new short story anthology after they saw a story of mine on a website. They have expressed an interest and asked me to contribute. They offer no payment and ask that the authors of the submissions they print pay shipping and handling for a copy of the anthology containing their story. I have checked out their website and I am not sure what to make of them. Can anyone tell me if I am being over cautious or if I am looking a gift-horse in the mouth?

Although I am flattered at the approach, I am a novice when it comes to publishing in print, having only had work published in e-zines. I am reluctant to send off a story I worked hard on to an unknown address with the possibility of never knowing if it is in print unless I shell out my own money to see this. Please can someone tell me if they heard of these collections or if the above is accepted practice...

The website is,

www.cyberwit.net

I am wondering if perhaps they rely on the author buying copies for friends and family as they charge around £15 (lot of money for a paperback) exc S & H.

Alka
Anonymous's picture