Targets and Re-Drafts. Then Edits andEver Painful Bits

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Targets and Re-Drafts. Then Edits andEver Painful Bits

How do you do yours? Do you set daily/weekly word counts? Is it a set draft limit, then edit post-writing or chaotic you go along? All those minutiae. I want to hear some of your daily approaches. If you would.

I can use 'as' when needed. I just can't use this bloody forum efficiently.

Every time I change a nappy I think of a word and write it down. I put the word in the nappy sac in the knowledge that one day in the future anthropologists will unearth these gems and conclude that I was a shit writer.

For most of my writing life I've commuted to work in London and therefore had very minimal time at the keyboard. Stories would be scribbled in notebooks, on corners of newspapers, postit notes, even on the back of my hand then rising up across both arms. Then I'd have a mad write-up session whenever I had time at the keyboard. LIfe's slightly better now I live and work in the same town, I do an hour most nights, though I've still got several stories in my notepad I need to write up (theoretically that's what I'm doing now). In terms of inspiration, it comes in bursts, usually 2 stories at a time.

Thank you. There will clearly be a bestseller named Shit. I am off to watch The Mighty on repeat with some Edam. I asked, as I spend long periods in procrastination destroying my work and mumbling about being worthless. My re-drafting is painful.Hours. Hours and hours of re-drafting. But it must be for all. Was seeking tips from the organised, the high-generators that churn out wordage. I always think I am missing some secret. But there are none. Reality = writing is as painful as it ever was for me. Am nicely reassured now. I usually have a couple of things going on, and whilst I am a slacker, I do bursts.