Why Write?

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
Why Write?

Hello all,

I think that this is a question that we all face when we're sitting down with our paper and pen, or in front of our computer screen. Why do it? What is the purpose? Are we here to entertain, educate, change the world, or just to create something beautiful? I'd be really interested to see what motivates abctalers...

Why not?
Too see if I can!
As an academic writer I write to demonstrate how clever I am. This doesn't work for two reasons; firstly, I am not that clever anyhow and secondly, good writing should make the reader feel how clever they are! In terms of poetry, I write because I don't pray. jude