Story and Poem of The Month

Our Story and Poem for the month of October, very kindly chosen by rjnewlyn:

 

What a great month! Well done to everyone who posted in October – it has been a tough choice. 

 

Obviously the heart of autumn/fall brings out the nature observation, particularly in the poetry and in this vein I recommend having a look at Angusfolklore’s Autumn Things (https://www.abctales.com/story/angusfolklore/autumn-things) and Di_Hard’s October Robin (https://www.abctales.com/story/dihard/october-robin).

Then of course there’s the end of the month with all things Hallowe’en/Samhain, so well done to onemorething for a series of four excellent poems to accompany the gathering darkness (https://www.abctales.com/story/onemorething/my-body-belongs-earth,https://www.abctales.com/story/onemorething/esther-coxhttps://www.abctales.com/story/onemorething/what-buried-thresholdshttps://www.abctales.com/story/onemorething/wintered-thin), plus take a look at rosaliekempthorne’s Night Hag for a prose chiller (https://www.abctales.com/story/rosaliekempthorne/night-hag).

On the other hand, if you’re feeling gloomy enough about winter and want a bit of humour as an antidote, have a look at Lou Blodgett’s More About Cats (https://www.abctales.com/story/lou-blodgett/more-about-cats) or airyfairy’s Night Time Economy (https://www.abctales.com/story/airyfairy/night-time-economy).   

 

Choosing anything is arbitrary, but two pieces do seem to sum up the human condition particularly astutely, so prose Pick of the Month goes to Simon Barget for Pain au Chocolat (https://www.abctales.com/story/simon-barget/pain-au-chocolat), and poetry Pick of the Month goes to mcmanaman for When I’m Sad I Eat Sweets (https://www.abctales.com/story/mcmanaman/when-im-sad-i-eat-sweets). Enjoy!