hook

29 posts / 0 new
Last post
hook

people are always criticising my writing for not having a hook to it.

if anyone can tell me what a hook is, and where i can find one, i'd be very grateful.

in point of fact, i haven't succeeded in finding one in real life yet either.

doubly cursed.

Karen
Anonymous's picture
You need intrigue. Start with a sentence that the reader would be intrigued with. Example: - John knew that the men standing round him, intended to kill him. or Peter heard the ticking of the bomb, before he even saw it. It will make the reader want to read on to find out what happens. Make sure you put loads of innuendo sentences in, questions unanswered. ie. "why was he here? Didn't she know he was out of place in the children's ward?" The reader will want to know who he is she's talking about. Is something sinister going on? Hope this helps. I'm no expert but have read loads of "Self-help" books, which are good for advice such as this. WHO'S THIS BILL ANYHOW? CAN I CRITISIZE HIM AT ALL? My advice "BE INTRIGUING" BE MYSTERIOUS, even in a slow story. Always keep the reader guessing.
Peter
Anonymous's picture
crocodile tears I suspect gosh, have you seen the time? must fly
chant
Anonymous's picture
no, not really. more an invitation for people to talk learnedly about hooks and explain what kinds there are. i mean, if you want to sell books, you certainly need a hook. but if you're intending to write an artistic piece, then shouldn't art reflect life, which clearly doesn't have one? question arises for me personally because this old guy called Bill Monks keeps telling me my stories have no hook or meat to them on thoughtcafe. now, Peter. no e-mail address. think you can conceal yourself from old one-eyed chant? of course you can't. have no fear though. i shall not run off to one-star all your work for your scepticism.
fish
Anonymous's picture