Writing Insecurities

20 posts / 0 new
Last post
Writing Insecurities

Apologies if this isn't the correct section to post it in--I thought it was best suited for here, but I'm not exactly sure.

It's hard for me to differentiate whether a poem is genuinely not good, or if I'm just being anxious. I wasn't going to post "translations," or "crowded," along with a string of other poems because I felt genuinely scared that they weren't good, or the writing wasn't up to my "potential" or something. It's awful. I get really disappointed in myself and my anxiety flares up and before I know it, I'm laying in bed, under a pile of ten blankets, close to deleting every piece of writing that didn't turn out to expectations.

I also get to not wanting to write at all, because I don't want to take the risk of it being another disappointment.

It makes me worried, because I do feel so strongly about it--and even though people have told me I'm a fantastic writer, or so on, I still fret over such and want to tear out pieces and let people forget they were there.

I haven't deleted anything yet, because I don't have all of the poems saved somewhere in case I change my mind--but it doesn't mean I won't in the future. I just get very insecure about my writing (and, well, everything).

Does anyone else get writing insecurities?