Debian Orphanage - Chapter 2

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
Debian Orphanage - Chapter 2
Leigh, I've read both chapters and I must admit that I find them utterly impenetrable. Are you trying to re-invent the English language? This is not my genre and I maybe haven't a clue what I'm talking about - but I just didn't understand what was going on or why. Maybe others will disagree!
I'm not very good at reading sci-fi (e.g. love Iain Banks but just can't be doing with Iain M. Banks). But even with this in mind, I have to agree with tcook on this one. The sentences often seemed like strings of words arbitrarily put together. Sometimes I could get at the meaning of a sentence with a second reading, but this just interrupted the flow of the piece. Perhaps it's because my brain's just not wired for sci-fi, though. Sorry!
It's got nothing at all to do with something being science fiction or not. Science fiction isn't a style, it's a genre. Style is something different. Hardboiled is a style, detective is a genre. The two often go together, but they don't have to. It's an experiment I imagine. Or the product of an experiment. If not the author has a bit of an approximate approach to meaning and sense in their work. Cheers, Mark

I have read far too much science fiction & from time to time I even write a little. Good sci fi can - maybe even should - be challenging. What I get from this piece is the idea of a completely different culture with a completely different mind-set & a very distinctive way of thinking & speaking. I cannot truthfully say I enjoyed reading it, but maybe if it were tweaked a little it would suddenly go from difficult to brilliant. Certainly I thing that it may be easier to attain "genius" from the cutting edge than from a more pedestrian style such as my own.