Help please!

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Help please!

Hello! I am a newbie to this site and hoping I can get a bit of advice perhaps. I am 24 and from a young age loved writing, even as a 8/9 year old I would write stories. Anyway, before I get into a life story or anything, basically I love to write but I haven't written a story for years upon years. I haven't even tried for quite a while and have just started again. I am however, finding it quite hard. I have an idea but I'm finding my writing seems all wrong, kind of childish and not flowing very well. Does anyone have any tips on improving this? Is it something that practise makes perfect? Any advice much appreciated, Thanks!

Howdy nosila, Yes, like Larking and blighters said, just let it flow. Take that little editor that's in your head and lock him in the cellar for a while and just get your thoughts down first. There's plenty of time to edit when you are through with that first draft. I think blighters made a good call on letting it sit for a day or two and then coming back to it. You'll have a fresh mind and a slightly different persepective. Most of all, have fun with it! Now get back up on that horse and ride.
Hi Nosilla and welcome to ABCtales. You could try to use the weekly Inspiration Point on here - it's on the home page on the left hand side - and try it out as an exercise. You'll be able to see what other people make of it too and that always helps with the flow. But the main thing is just to start - and then keep going! I look forward to reading your pieces.