I think we should al have an ABC bank account

31 posts / 0 new
Last post
I think we should al have an ABC bank account

Okay I have an idea.

It might be completely undoable, if it was done it may not even make a bit of difference. I'm not a programmer and might be asking something impossible ... but...

something that annoys me with any writing site is that a lot of people are always happier to receive than to give. I know it's not everybody a core of memebers are very good but...

An awful lot of people will post piece after piece and then sit back happily and wait for the glowing praise and reviews to begin rolling in.

What if...

Every memeber of the site had a bank balance begining at zero. Every piece they post costs them a point and every piece they review gains them a point. Every memeber would soon either be in the red or the black.

Once you went into the black, you would have to face 'bank charges' for every piece you submitted after that point you'd be expected to read two in return until you were back in the red.

Once a week/month the ten healthiest bank balances could be recorded.

One it would be a bit of fun trying to stay in the red.

Two Biggus would suddenly get a lot more hits

Three it might just prick the consience of all the posters but not readers.

Its a good idea. Someone has already suggested that when you post, you should review something. The other thing is that criticism and creativity are really two sides of the same coin and doing reviews on other writers' work is good practice. I will endeavour to do more. I would like to support the site in whatever way possible. Its a very positive experience. EA
Good idea Sooz Tony There is a module in drupal for this: http://drupal.org/project/userpoints Called userpoints. Using a block on the right listing top userpoints I think will greatly increase the amount of comments. As Sooz says -1 point for a submission and +1 point for a comment