OU creative writing

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
OU creative writing

Has anyone done the creative writing MA on the Open University?

Did it help you become a better writer?

Did it help you with getting published/making money from writing?

Has anyone found other online sources that would do this?

Hi Di_Hard, I did the Future Learn On Line Course. It's free...Here's the Link. It starts again in February.

https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/start-writing-fiction

I did look into the OU Degree Course for Creative Writing  but it would cost over £17000.

Wow! That looks perfect - I'd never heard of it. Thankyou so much for letting me know, Jolono. Have just signed up :0)

This sounds very interesting. Unisa (University of South-Africa) offers all the usual degree qualifications and a number of other certificates are available also as correspondence. I studied up to an MSc and worked there for more than a decade. They offer some languages and up to doctoral level. I have thought of enrolling at the Open University. As far as I know there aren't any graduate courses in SA on creative writing. Unisa is a well respected international academic institution. The qualifications are internationally recognised.

Tom Brown

Thankyou for your suggestion Tom. My partner is doing an OU degree in computing and says there are students from lots of countries doing his course. If you want to do creative writing though, check out Jolono's link?

Unisa is primarily a distance learning university. Of course these days with modern communication technology it works very well and yes there are many students throughout the world.

We have many students in prisons and in armed forces, everywhere and including very remote places. Nelson Mandela for example did his Law degree in prison on Robbin Island. Most students are employed so this is a way to study part time and tuition fees are affordable.

As far as student numbers go it is one of the Very largest universities in the world.